• You cannot reply to this topic
8 replies to this topic

blu84rex

• Slowpoke
  • PipPip
    • Group: Members
    • Drives: 1984 CRX
    Garage View Garage
Today I want to take the tranny off my parts car ( motors out ) and I got it apart from the block but I am unable to turn the crank to remove the drive plate bolts. Is there a way that I can remove them without turning the block? By the way the torque converter is on the crank and the tranny is off.
Conceal nothing... And watch the fools search forever!

badpenny

• tinker, tinker....BOOOOOOM!!!! then I run around
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
    • Group: Contributing Mod
    • Drives: Don't, because they don't run and I am a crappy mechanic.
    • Image Gallery
    Garage View Garage
<--------Flywheel tool
You need one of these, they are availible at autoZone and you can purchase them from snap-on They arent cheap. Its used to keep the flywheel/torque converter from moving when you are trying to break loose bolts.
Honda, because it's hard to look baller in your mom's Volvo.Posted Image 
The entire tool selection at Sears or the contents of a Snap-On truck will do you no good if you do not know how to use them.

blu84rex

• Slowpoke
  • PipPip
    Garage View Garage
Breaking the bolts loose isn't the problem. The problem is that the motor is locked up and I cant turn it to get to all the bolts.

lxndr

• All work and no play makes LXNDR a dull boy. All work and no...
  • PipPipPipPipPip
You're screwed.

Open up the oil pan and figure out why the motor is seized. You won't be able to do anything without removing the plate and converter since these need to be removed in order to remove the rear seal, and the rear seal needs to be removed in order to pull the crank. You might also have to pull the head off the block depending on what's damaged inside the block.

blu84rex

• Slowpoke
  • PipPip
    Garage View Garage