What Grit Sandpaper To Polish Taillights?

• You cannot reply to this topic
12 replies to this topic

gqstylesupreme

• Slowpoke
  • PipPip
    • Group: Members
    • Drives: 1987 Honda CRX
i've heard you can restore old crappy looking taillights by sanding them with wet/dry paper. has anyone done this, and what grits would i use?

badpenny

• tinker, tinker....BOOOOOOM!!!! then I run around
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
    • Group: Contributing Mod
    • Drives: Don't, because they don't run and I am a crappy mechanic.
    • Image Gallery
    Garage View Garage
QUOTE (gqstylesupreme @ Nov 11 2005, 08:23 AM)
i've heard you can restore old crappy looking taillights by sanding them with wet/dry paper. has anyone done this, and what grits would i use?

toothpaste and a lot of time. I am not kidding. i even used them on other flushmount headlamps.
Honda, because it's hard to look baller in your mom's Volvo.Posted Image 
The entire tool selection at Sears or the contents of a Snap-On truck will do you no good if you do not know how to use them.

redsautorehab

• 3gen enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
    • Group: Vendors
    • Drives: 00 Dodge Durango, 01 Ford F250, 99 Chevy Tracker, 82 suzuki rm250
    • Image Gallery
    Garage View Garage
you need a buffer, or badpenny's idea

i,ve tried 2200 grit sandpaper, and it leaves a slight haze, that needs constant waxing
"You play hard to get, I play hard to get rid of" Fez, That 70's Show

my website if you need parts for your car, and i don't have them at on my website, just pm me. I can get most of the common parts for our cars.

my vouch thread

kakabox

• Turd Polisher
  • PipPipPipPipPip
    • Group: 2012 Contributor
    • Drives: from point 'A' to point 'B' daily.
    • Image Gallery
    Garage View Garage
From my KAKABOX thread: