I New To Changing Engines

• You cannot reply to this topic
13 replies to this topic

oeldisplay

• Slowpoke
  • PipPip
    • Group: Members
    • Drives: 85 crx
hi ive been offered a 94 civic si with a v-tech, and i have a 85 crx the motor dont run anymore so ive been thinking of buying the car and droping the motor into my car.
so my first ? is will i need new motor mounts or custom ones?
second its now a auto (94 civic) i hate auto i love stick and my crx is stick so will i beable to use my 85 crx tranny with the 94 v-tech engine?
so basially sense im new to this what will i need new or newer to put a 94 v-tech with auto tranny into my 85 crx with a manule tranny and i want my car to stay stick there the only cars i drive.

Omega Mugen

• Dug Diggler
  • PipPipPipPipPip
    • Group: 2009 Contributing Member
    • Drives: 87 CRX w/Si motor, 86 Civic DX Hatch, 2001 Prelude
This is going to be a high difficulty swap, but possible. To answer your questions, you need custom mounts. No company makes these particular mount, so you'd have to make your own, difficult but not impossible. Your other question, no way you'd be able to use that tranny and that engine. No way. You'd have to get some other transmission. The linkage you'd have to make yourself. Then you'd have to use the complete wiring harness from the 94 Civic and change the connectors for various 85 CRX components.

You've selected a difficult swap. The only one on this board who has done anything like this is rpr. See his gallery and his postings of his car.

If you do pull this one off, you will have a hot car, though.

Edited by Omega Mugen, 16 February 2005 - 10:41 PM.

Going to Hawaii? You need a Dune Buggy.

WTB: 14x8 or 9" Panasports or Watanabe RS.

WTB: 3g Civic hatch gauge cowl, brown.

WTB: ZC header--FOUND

RTM