Project "crxxx

• You cannot reply to this topic
63 replies to this topic

P-Tail

• Slowpoke
  • PipPip
    • Group: 2009 Contributing Member
    • Drives: 85 crx si, 86 crx dx (deceased)
Hi there,

This is not a super ambitious, or very ambitious, or even slightly ambitious project. The point however is for me to document my progress and get input/motivation from the wealth of experience and knowledge on this forum.

My goals for this car are to take car of it! I expect to keep it for as long as I can, and since Im not into racing (yet) and Im a pretty safe driver I think Im on the right track. I want to restore the car and modify it tastefully. Also, although I am on the standard college student budget, I would like to someday do an engine swap. Nothing huge, just maybe a browntop or something, but that is very much a dream right now. Also switch to manual trans. However, priorities now are on bringing this machine up to par (or possibly to birdie).

I picked up my first honda a few weeks ago, a 1986 CRX dx automatic 4 speed. For starters, I live in Michigan, near Detroit. Not exactly the best place to find imports. Anyways, after extensive searching and all that, I found my crx outside of Pittsburgh Pennsylvania. At $850, it seemed like a good deal. 100,000 miles, some rust, clean interior, some driver seat rips. Original owner had it for a few years, garaged it for about 11, gave it to her nephew in high school. He did some distasteful mods, and then sold it to another guy. This guy took very good care of it. Chopped the poopcan, redid exhaust from the header back, fixed up all the mundane things such as timing belt, things like that.