Relaying Your Headlamps Simplified.

Brighter stock headlights.

• You cannot reply to this topic
No replies to this topic

badpenny

• tinker, tinker....BOOOOOOM!!!! then I run around
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
    • Group: Contributing Mod
    • Drives: Don't, because they don't run and I am a crappy mechanic.
    • Image Gallery
    Garage View Garage
Upgrading your stock headlamps to brighter headlights
CAUTION MATH INVOLVED!!!!!!!

DISCLAIMER:
We are not responsible for damages caused while following the directions in these pages. These pages are for informational use only.
Terms: AWG = gauge in this writeup

US headlights on our cars have extremely low wattage somewhere around 35-50 watts. Euro headlights with H4 bulbs start out at 55 watts and can go above 100 watts per bulb. Our stock wiring cannot handle this extra wattage. The way the headlight system works in our cars is for the power to go from the Battery to the fuse panel, then up to the headlight switch, then all the way back out to the headlights. And then is grounded. This is called a grounded system, meaning that at a point (or various points) the system is grounded to the frame or chassis by a wire.

A relayed system (the one being proposed) acts as a remote controlled switch system. Instead of running the 16-20 foot inside inferior grade wiring which is around 18 gauge, the power now runs from the battery to the relay to the headlight in a distance of 5.5 ft on wire that is better suited to handle the load without reduction of amperage. The relay is told to turn on by the stock wiring. A relay uses far less current than the headlights do, taking a load off of your electrical and charging system, making your switch, as well as alternator last longer.

Before you begin