Rebuild Or New Motor?

• You cannot reply to this topic
19 replies to this topic

brutus76

• Slowpoke
  • PipPip
    • Group: Members
    • Drives: 2002 WRX, @2000 cummins Ram, 87 CRX Si

I have an 87 SI that burns oil, especially when it is cold. I take it easy on it when it is warming up and it seems to go away once it gets up to temp. The car feels like it still has plenty of power and I drive it daily about 60 miles total. I recently did a headgasket and valve grind on the motor. The reson for doing the head was because my timing belt broke on the freeway. I feel that the cause of the oil consumption is coming from worn rings. Is there something that I could be missing?

I am a pretty experienced mechanic and own most of the tools besides a ring compressor.

Should I rebuild the bottom end or should I try to source a D16A1?

I work as a designer at a fab shop and have access to machine processes and I also weld at home. From what I have researched the large part of the cost involved in the swap is the engine mounts, which I could fabricate myself.

rallyxcrx

• Slowpoke
  • PipPip
    • Drives: 87 crx

Were the valve seals changed? The lower end is easy to rebuild, if you decide to go that route, Dave 

brutus76

• Slowpoke
  • PipPip

Were the valve seals changed? The lower end is easy to rebuild, if you decide to go that route, Dave 

The valve stem seals were replaced.....

ballade

• Leadfoot
  • PipPipPipPipPip
    • Group: 2014 Contributor
    • Drives: 1985 CRX Si B16A / 1992 Integra RS B18C
    • Image Gallery

Sounds like rings 

If you like the motor just rebuild it. 

if you want more performance there are options. 

A D16A1 isn't a huge gain due to the weight. mind you it's a better platform for more power. 

brutus76

• Slowpoke
  • PipPip

Sounds like rings 

If you like the motor just rebuild it. 

if you want more performance there are options. 

A D16A1 isn't a huge gain due to the weight. mind you it's a better platform for more power.