1987 crx hf

• You cannot reply to this topic
10 replies to this topic

qarnet

• Granny
  • Pip
    • Group: Members
I recently purchased a 1987 CRX HF, but it needs a new engine.  I am guessing it has the original engine (1342 cc).

Would I be able to put a 1488 cc (carb) engine without changing anything else?

I'm new at all this, so your patience and understanding will be appreciated..smile.gif

boman

• BOman
  • PipPipPipPipPip
    • Group: Contributing Member
    • Drives: 1987 Honda CRX Si ZC-Turbo, 1999 Honda Civic Dx
    • Image Gallery
You could swap in a carbed ZC engine, which bolts right in.  I've been told that the power gain is incredible!

JAKOB biggrin.gif
1987 Honda CRX Si 1.6 DOHC TURBO (ZC)
1999 Honda Civic Dx

Sold:
1999 Civic SiR
2002 Lexus IS300

rpr

• giggidy giggidy giggidy!
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
    • Group: Super Administrators
    • Drives: Race: yeah right, who has time to race (2008 Civic Si, when I have time), Daily: 2006 Ridgeline
    • Image Gallery
    Garage View Garage
Yes, I believe the 1.5l carbed engine will be a direct bolt in. From looking at the 1.3 and 1.5, I cannot find anything that isn't the same, visually at least. It would be the easiest swap you could do. A carbed ZC would be trickier (ask 1GCRXDX). If you want complicated, convert to fuel injection, and go from there!
"Toby, you are a thief of joy"

qarnet

• Granny
  • Pip
I'm just looking to get a decently running car.  I've already read the "complications" of going EFI, and that's a headache I don't really want..smile.gif  The 1.5 seems like it will be good enough.  Thanks..smile.gif

Gasoline Fumes

The HF is a 1488cc. The 1342cc engine was only used in the base 1984 CRX and the 1984-87 base hatchback. The HF has a higher compression ratio, 4 less valves than the DX, smaller main and rod journals, roller rockers and a transmission geared for gas mileage. The DX engine should drop right in.

1GCRXDX

• Going all out!
  • PipPipPipPip