Major Electrical Issues.

• You cannot reply to this topic
13 replies to this topic

87CRX_HF

• Granny
  • Pip
    • Group: Members
    • Drives: 87 CRX HF, 93 Mustang LX 5.0,11 Tacoma TRD O/R
Hey guys I'm new to the sight and new to CRX's. I have a 87 CRX HF. I did a battery relocate kit to the back and found out that the ground i chose was not good enough. So I moved everything back to original place. Positive terminal-wire to starter, wire to fusable link(top right), and white/green wire from hazards. the issue is that as soon as i touch the wire from fusable link to hot, relays start clicking and the battery and oil light are on in the cabin without key. If I start the car this way, I can turn the key off and car still runs, only way to kill it is by removing wire from positive terminal.. Now wire connecting to fusabe link is a straight shot to altenator, when i take the wire from other side and bypass the fusable link I have no power at all. So its like the power is hitting the link and redirecting somewhere.. I have been told ignition or voltag regulator possibly Car was running perfect b4 this.

87CRX_HF

• Granny
  • Pip
Whatever is going on is causing there to be no lights what so ever. Brake lights, headlights, all interior lights- nothing works

Indyman

• Slowpoke
  • PipPip
    • Group: 2011 Contributing Member
    • Drives: 1984 Straman Dx Convertible
I have a 87 Crx Hf that runs fine... Send pictures of everything you have reconnected and I will try and see if you have inadvertently made a wrong connection. Eric

anjin

• redlinefever
  • PipPipPipPipPip
    • Group: 2014 Contributor
    • Drives: 83 crx - kakaburra,83 gen1 Noir, 87 EF7 Glasstop crx, 83 gen 1 rebuild replica mugen racecar
    • Image Gallery
    Garage View Garage
You have managed to make the system live and bypassed the ignition. Two things I'd ask. Have you made the connection to the correct fusible link - there are options.. And the white/green wire from hazards is what?