• You cannot reply to this topic
11 replies to this topic

ian1006

• Granny
  • Pip
    • Group: Members
    • Drives: 1983 Honda Civic S
Hello!
I am a newb to this forum but not new to automotive forums. I have been recommended to this site countless times from Honda-tech.com since no one is able to answer my questions. I know my car is not technically the right year or generation but I hope to find some info here.

I own a 1983 Honda Civic 1500 S. I am building it to be an auto-x car with my dad as a father son project. Goal is to have fun the first year with basic gutted interior, Weber carb conversion, basic suspension, possible racing seats, and new rims and tires. I am currently ripping all out of the emissions control stuff, such as the EGR system and anti-afterburn chambers. So with that out of the way here is my question...

What are these boxes and what do they do?
So I know these are called control box 1,2, and 3. I have found them in my Haynes manual but I have no idea what they are and what they do. Are they needed to make the car run? Are they emissions related? It would be nice to be able to take them out as they have a ton of vacuum hoses going in and out of them and the bay is cluttered. Any help would be appreciated and the pics are below:

The first pic is "Control Box 1" and the second picture is "Control box 2 and 3"

According to my vacuum diagram on the hood it says that both boxes 2 and 3 are for the EGR system...Seeing as how I already yanked out the EGR stuff I also pulled boxes 2 and 3.

Box 1 consists of :
Dashpot check valve
Cranking leak soleniod valve
P/J cut valve soleniod
Idle control soleniod valve
Control switch
a handful of check valves
Control switch
Vacuum holding soleniod valve
cranking soleniod valve

This is the list of things listed under #1 box on the hood of the car. Almost every single one of them pulls some kind of vacuum from the carb...Any info on removing the number one box would be appreciated again guys!

Ian