Back In The Game With An 86' Si. What Mods For Street?

• You cannot reply to this topic
32 replies to this topic

oblivionnewtonjohn

• Professional novice
  • PipPip
    • Group: 2014 Contributor
    • Drives: 1986 Honda CRX Si
Glad to be back in the community though I am new to RPR, thank you for the add, great site y'all have. I recenty acquired a nice unmolested 86' Si with 268K.
I previously owned an 84', 87', 89' si and 90' si that was extensively modified back in 96'. I am older at 36, a bit more tame and looking to do a light EDM/JDM restoration with an emphasis on handling and the ability to do some spirited driving on the Tennessee hills and curvy backroads with it being a daily commuter. 

On my 90' I had ST suspension,ATk reman engine, Centerforce clutch, Trust catback, DC header/intake, 18' Enkei Zenki w/Nitto 450's, Wingswest body. I want to source the highest quality components available, I prefer not to run knock off/Ebay junk. Just a personal preference. What all is available besides what NOPI, heeltoe offer?  

I will assess the condition of the motor, seems the PO has taken care of it the past 5 years and is a middle aged gentleman so that's promising. 

Eventually I would like to replace with a 1.6 JDM once I locate one. Best source?

Heeltoe seems to offer quite a bit, awesome resource to the community. 

Once I have determined the current state of the engine I would like to start with:

1. Suspension- are the Tein coilovers from heeltoe overkill for a daily street driver? Are there good springs available, which shocks would work well for street?
   ST sway front/back, Cusco front/rear strut, Medieval torsion bar setup

2. Keeping the stock rims, I like the Toyo RA1's, a good choice? 

3. HKS filter-70019-BH008, what exhaust would you recommend to give performance but remain somewhat mellow in tone? Willing to compromise. Seems catback are NLA, so I will need to have it custom fabricated. I can tag it antique so no emissions. 

chedda_j