• You cannot reply to this topic
39 replies to this topic

dan86si

• Granny
  • Pip
    • Group: Members
    • Drives: 86 crxsi, 02 RSXtype-R
Long time reader, first time poster.

I'm sure this information is on this site, but I need help making the proper decisions as to the aging brakes on my 86si. I've been doing autocross and open track days for a couple of years, with no major mechanical problem or failures to date. I upgraded the brakes to AEM pads on the front, Brembo discs, Goodrich SS lines, and Motul 600 fluid. This is just fine for autocross, but the heat involved in road racing during the summer months in Oklahoma might have finally taken it's toll.

After my last event, after frying my front pads down to the plates, I replaced the pads and bled the lines just for good measure. Everything was fine, so thought, until recently the pedal is slowly sinking to the floor when I set at a light. I've tried placing my foot firmly on the pedal when the engine is off and it holds just fine. I'm assuming from info that I've gleened from this site, that this indicates a failing booster. I have not seen any leaks or a reduction of fluid in the MC.

Since it looks like I need to spend some time and money, what upgrades can I do without major modifications? I've read that the front calipers and discs from the 86-89 Integra are a direct swap with no other parts, and I recall reading that the booster/mc from something fits to the firewall and pedal as well, but I cant find it again. Since the age of these cars makes buying junkyard parts a risky prospect, I've decided to get someting either new or rebuilt from Autozone or somewhere that comes with a warranty, of course I can always take the CRX parts back for the core refund.

Any help from you folks would be greatly appreciated. I'm off this weekend, after payday no less, and the time is ripe! Thanks.

strudel

• Leadfoot
  • PipPipPipPipPip
    • Group: 2011 Contributing Member